Tags

, , , ,

Alexander the Great quotes, phrases and proverbs. Famous quotes by Alexander, the Macedonian military leader and general who conquered the whole known world of his time.

Alexander the Great quotes

Alexander The Great

Alexander the Great, Alexander III of Macedonia, nicknamed Alexander the Great, king of Macedonia, Born July 21 of 356 B.C., (reigning from 336 to 323 B.C.), conqueror of the Persian Empire. Alexander the Great is considered to be the greatest political figure of antiquity, great military strategist (the first one of all, in Anibal’s opinion) and creator of a work of great cultural importance. Alexander the Great is known as one of the most brilliant generals in history. Besides being a brave military man, Alexander the Great was planning his campaigns with great brilliance, since a very early age.

Alexander quotes:

There is nothing impossible to him who will try.

I am not afraid of an army of lions led by a sheep; I am afraid of an army of sheep led by a lion.

Remember upon the conduct of each depends the fate of all.

A tomb now suffices him for whom the whole world was not sufficient.

Heaven cannot brook two suns, nor earth two masters.

I am dying from the treatment of too many physicians.

What an excellent horse do they lose, for want of address and boldness to manage him! … I could manage this horse better than others do.

I am indebted to my father for living, but to my teacher for living well.

If I were not Alexander, I should wish to be Diogenes.

Our enemies are Medes and Persians, men who for centuries have lived soft and luxurious lives; we of Macedon for generations past have been trained in the hard school of danger and war.

Sex and sleep alone make me conscious that I am mortal.

I had rather excel others in the knowledge of what is excellent, than in the extent of my power and dominion.

Are you still to learn that the end and perfection of our victories is to avoid the vices and infirmities of those whom we subdue?

Holy shadows of the dead, I’m not to blame for your cruel and bitter fate, but the accursed rivalry which brought sister nations and brother people, to fight one another.

Alexander swords

Alexander swords

Alexander the Great swords

